About the Phuket Cricket Week

Welcome to the official blog of the Phuket Cricket Week

The Phuket Cricket Week is run by the Asian Cricket Sixes Tour (ACST) (www.cricketsixes.com)

The ACST continues to organise superb club cricket events at fantastic locations across Asia Pacific since it was founded in 2000.

The Phuket Cricket Week comprises of the ICC Award Winning Phuket International Cricket Sixes and the Thalang International 7's (formerly known as the Kata International 7's)

The Sixes were first held in 2004, while the 7's made its first appearance in 2012. Both events have helped raise substantial sums through the kindness of its worldwide participants to assist in the next generation of Thais falling in love with the game through the Phuket Cricket Group's Junior Development Fund. The ACST would like to thank the PCG for their continued and invaluable support as the Phuket Cricket week continues to flourish.

All enquiries for anyone wishing to come along and make friendships through the game, whether as a team or individuals should contact the ACST Chairman, Michael 'Cat' Maher at mmaher.padmir@bigpond.com or by telephone on +61 407 385 481.

We hope that you enjoy looking through the archives of this brilliant event. Look at the index page down the right-hand side and click on the year and feature you wish to see. Content will continually be updated. If you see an untitled image you can assist with, please get in touch!

Sunday, December 20, 2015

2010 - Preview

The following report was sent to our Media outlets and was posted on our websites...

Phuket International Cricket Sixes 2010 – Tournament Preview

“Teams Line Up for the 7th Phuket International Cricket Sixes 2010”

14th April 2010

Cricket teams from Australia, India, Singapore, Pakistan, Indonesia, Hong Kong flew into Phuket, Thailand this week to compete with local sides at the seventh annual Phuket International Cricket Sixes being played at Karon Stadium, Phuket, Thailand from 15 – 18th April.

Twenty four teams in total will be participating in the ICC Award winning tournament, along with former pro and international players such as Karen Rolton ( former Australia women’s team captain and ICC World Player of the Year), Trevor Chappell (ex Australia, brother of Ian and Greg) and Kenny Jackson (former 1st class cricketer in South Africa, now a Supersport cricket commentator).

The tournament is one tournament on the Asian Cricket Sixes Tour, the series of club cricket events which includes Pattaya, Chiang Mai, Hong Kong, Shanghai, Singapore and New South Wales.

The ‘fun in the sun’ Phuket Sixes, launched in 2004, got off to a flying start today with the Kenny Jackson Beach Cricket tournament being played at the picturesque Karon beach. 

“The emphasis of all our tournaments is on ‘friendship through cricket’, so the fun beach cricket comp is a wonderful way to get the tournament going and the teams mingling,” said Asian Cricket Sixes Tour Chairman, Michael Maher.

“The ground is looking in good condition and we’re looking forward to a fantastic week of ‘fun in the sun’ cricket,” said Tournament Director, Brad Tarr. “We’ve got another really strong field of teams here and it’s great to welcome women’s teams to the tournament for the first time,” continued Mr Tarr.

Play gets underway at Karon stadium at 9am with the Custom Cockatoos from Adelaide, fresh from their Shield triumph last week in Pattaya, in a challenging match versus former champions the Corner Tigers from Pakistan.

It’s a busy week of activities for the participating teams in Phuket, starting with the beach cricket, then a Welcome Reception Garden Party (Thursday from 7.30pm at the Green Man), T20 fundraising match (Karon Stadium, Friday from 6.45pm) and Gala Awards Dinner (7.30pm at Kata beach Resort).

Entry to the Karon Stadium ground for spectators during the tournament is free and refreshments are available.

For further information about the Phuket international Cricket Sixes see www.phuketsixes.com
Phuket Sixes 2010 Competing Teams

Group A
Corner Tigers (Pakistan)
Custom Cockatoos (Australia)
Bennett Hotel (Australia)

Group B
CBB Postels (International)
Gauhati Town Whites (India)
Wild Men From Borneo (Indonesia)

Group C
Royal Maratha (India)
Perth Postels (Australia)
Karon Seasanders (Phuket)

Group D
Leeming Spartans 1 (Australia)
Power Packers (India)
PCDC Natives (Thailand)

Group E
Curtin Park (Australia)
Baulkham Hills (Australia)
Leeming Spartans 2 (Australia)

Group F
St George’s river (Australia)
Darwin Stubbies (Australia)
Gauhati Town Maroon (India)

Group G
Normanhurst Warrawee (Australia)
Lamma CC (Hong Kong)
Custom Cockatoos Ladies (Australia)

Group H
St Francis De Sales (Australia)
Toorak Prahan (Australia)
Singapore Slingers Ladies (Singapore)

Groups play Round Robin format, so each side plays two games in Round One.

Organisers Appreciate the Support of the Tournament Sponsors:

Tourism Authority of Thailand
Phuket International Hospital
San Miguel Beer
Imran Sports International
Duke’s Cricket Balls
Asia Escape Holidays
Thirsty Horse
91.5FM – Phuket (Local Media Partner)
Phuket Post (Local Media Partner)

Official Hotels
Andaman Seaview Hotel
Karon Sea Sands Resort & Spa
Tropical Garden Hotel
Paradise Koh Yao Resort

Official Bars & Restaurants
The Green Man Pub
O’Tool’s Bar
Rosco’s Bar & Restaurant
Australia Bar & Grill, Kata
Bounty Bar

Advance Fixtures

Thursday 15th April 2010

09.00: Custom Cockatoos v Corner Tigers
09.00: Gauhati Town Maroon v St Georges River
10.15: Royal Maratha v Karon Seasanders
10.15: Gauhati Town White v Wild Men From Borneo
11.30: Leeming Spartans 2 v Baulkham Hills
11.30: Darwin Stubbies v Gauhati Town Maroon
12.45: Leeming Spartans 1 v Power Packers
12.45: Custom Cockatoos Ladies v Lamma
14.00: Corner Tigers v Bennett Hotel
14.00: Singapore Slingers Ladies v Toorak Prahan
15.15: Baulkham Hills v Curtin Victoria Park
15.15 CBB Postels v Wild Men From Borneo
16.30: Toorak Prahan v St Francis De Sales
16.30: Lamma v Normanhurst Warrawee

Friday 16th April 2010

09.15: PCDC Natives v Power Packers
09.15: Bennett Hotel v Custom Cockatoos
10.30: Perth Postels v Royal Maratha
10.30: Curtin Victoria Park v Leeming Spartans 2
11.45: Singapore Slingers Ladies v St Francis De Sales
11.45: Custom Cockatoos Ladies v Normanhurst Warrawee
13.00: CBB Postels v Gauhati Town White
13.00: Darwin Stubbies v St Georges River
14.15: Perth Postels v Karon Seasanders
14.15: Leeming Spartans 1 v PCDC Natives

15.30: Womens Final
Custom Cockatoos v Singapore Slingers
(2 Innings Game)

16.45: 21 v 24
16.45: 23 v 22

18.30: Twenty 20 All Star Charity Match

Saturday 17th April 2010

1) 09.00: 9 v 13
2) 09.00: 10 v 14
3) 10.15: 11 v 15
4) 10.15: 12 v 16
5) 11.30: 1 v 8
6) 11.30: 2 v 7
7) 12.45: 3 v 6
8) 12.45: 4 v 5
9) 14.00: 17 v 9
10) 14.00: 18 v 10
11) 15.15: 11 v 19
12) 15.15: 12 v 16
13) 16.30: 13 v 17
14) 16.30: 14 v 18

Sunday 18th April 2010

09.00: 15 v 19
09.00: 16 v 20
10.15: 21 v 22

Phuket Sixes 2010 – Officials

1/ Rex “Slydog” Evans – Head Umpire
2/ Jeffrey “Rabbi” Cohen – Umpire
3/ Chris Felton – Umpire
4/ Peter Billing – Umpire
5/ Gary Johnson – Umpire
6/ Warren Pugh – Umpire

1/ Sandy Boyes
2/ Daniel Way
3/ Brian Shaw
4/ Tracy Walker

Match Stewards:
1/ Michael Way
2/ Max Walker

1/ Michael Maher
2/ Brad Tarr
3/ Ian Liddell
4/ Mark Burns
5/ Saurav Chatterjee
6/ Robert Bernard

Ground Preparation
1/ Dixie Joy 

1/ Barb “HE” McHerron - Massage

1/ Mason Adams – Asia Eacape Holidays
2/ Karyn Brown – Charity Collections
3/ Wayne Morrison – Video and Team Co-Ordination Karon Seasands
4/ Fran Billing – Computer input and assistance

Star Players:
1/ Trevor Chappell 
2/ Kenny Jackson 
3/ Karen Rolton 

No comments:

Post a Comment

All feedback is welcome, but it will be subject to moderation before publishing.