About the Phuket Cricket Week

Welcome to the official blog of the Phuket Cricket Week

The Phuket Cricket Week is run by the Asian Cricket Sixes Tour (ACST) (www.cricketsixes.com)

The ACST continues to organise superb club cricket events at fantastic locations across Asia Pacific since it was founded in 2000.

The Phuket Cricket Week comprises of the ICC Award Winning Phuket International Cricket Sixes and the Thalang International 7's (formerly known as the Kata International 7's)

The Sixes were first held in 2004, while the 7's made its first appearance in 2012. Both events have helped raise substantial sums through the kindness of its worldwide participants to assist in the next generation of Thais falling in love with the game through the Phuket Cricket Group's Junior Development Fund. The ACST would like to thank the PCG for their continued and invaluable support as the Phuket Cricket week continues to flourish.

All enquiries for anyone wishing to come along and make friendships through the game, whether as a team or individuals should contact the ACST Chairman, Michael 'Cat' Maher at mmaher.padmir@bigpond.com or by telephone on +61 407 385 481.

We hope that you enjoy looking through the archives of this brilliant event. Look at the index page down the right-hand side and click on the year and feature you wish to see. Content will continually be updated. If you see an untitled image you can assist with, please get in touch!

Thursday, December 10, 2015

2005 - A Round-Up of the Lighthouse Phuket International Cricket Sixes

Lighthouse Phuket International Cricket Sixes 2005

The Phuket Sixes was a great success with the eighteen teams flying in from nine different countries to compete. The players enjoyed a Cocktail Welcome Reception at the Green Man, the Awards Dinner at the Hilton Arcadia hotel, as well as four days of superb, competitive, cricket-style ‘fun in the sun.’

The beach cricket and volleyball on Karon Beach the day before the tournament started was fantastic and really set the right tone for the good spirit in which the rest of the tournament was played.

On the field, the new wicket played well and, bearing in mind a tsunami, a drought and heavy overnight rain during the tournament, the outfield was as good as could be expected.

During the tournament matches were very competitive, but played in excellent spirit, with the eighteen teams competing in two divisions.

Floodlights & Fundraising

A Twenty-over charity fundraising match was held under floodlights on the evening of 8th April at the Karon Stadium with the best players in the tournament taking part in two teams captained by Trevor Chappell (Australia) and Kenny Jackson (South Africa).

It’s very exciting for the tournament that this match worked spectacularly well, and as a result floodlit cricket is now being considered as a more prominent feature of next year’s Phuket Cricket Sixes.

It has been a fantastic experience to organize the Phuket Cricket Sixes this year, made even more gratifying by the event helping to raise 75,000 baht for a local orphanage charity and the fact that US$300,000 (approx) has been pumped into the Phuket tourist economy when it needs it most. A big thank you goes out from us to all the teams for this.


The media coverage of the Phuket Sixes was extensive with excellent coverage in Phuket via the Phuket.com website and the Phuket Gazette newspaper; nationally via the two big English language Thai newspapers, the Bangkok Post and The Nation; plus excellent international coverage around the Asia region and globally via electronic media. Thai TV Channel 11 broadcast coverage of the event.

Roll of Honour

Cup Winners: Corner Tigers (Pakistan)
Cup Runners-up: Moonshine Warathais (Australia)
Bowl Winners: Sunshine CC (India)
Bowl Runners-up: Gauhati Town CC (India)
Plate Winners: Applecross Postels (Australia)
Plate Runners-up: Kudu Bar Cavalry Cricket Team (Malaysia)
Spoon Winners: Blythswood CC & Singh Sabha FC (UK)
Spoon Runners-up: Bangkok Postels (Australia)
Player of the Tournament (Open): Haroon Qazi (Corner Tigers)
Player of the Tournament (Spoon): Ken “T/Bags” Bushell (Bangkok Postels)
Player of the Final (Cup): Humayun Malik (Corner Tigers)
Player of the Final (Bowl): Vipul Patel (Sunshine CC)
Player of the Final (Plate): Josh “Donga” Kapor (Applecross Postels)
Player of the Final (Spoon): Raj Boparai (Blythswood CC)

No of 6’s scored in the 2005 tournament: 343

No comments:

Post a Comment

All feedback is welcome, but it will be subject to moderation before publishing.