About the Phuket Cricket Week

Welcome to the official blog of the Phuket Cricket Week

The Phuket Cricket Week is run by the Asian Cricket Sixes Tour (ACST) (www.cricketsixes.com)

The ACST continues to organise superb club cricket events at fantastic locations across Asia Pacific since it was founded in 2000.

The Phuket Cricket Week comprises of the ICC Award Winning Phuket International Cricket Sixes and the Thalang International 7's (formerly known as the Kata International 7s)

The Sixes were first held in 2004, while the 7s made its first appearance in 2012. Both events have helped raise substantial sums through the kindness of its worldwide participants to assist in the next generation of Thais falling in love with the game through the Phuket Cricket Group's Junior Development Fund. The ACST would like to thank the PCG for their continued and invaluable support as the Phuket Cricket week continues to flourish.

All enquiries for anyone wishing to come along and make friendships through the game, whether as a team or individuals should contact the ACST Chairman, Michael 'Cat' Maher at mmaher.padmir@bigpond.com or by telephone on +61 407 385 481.

We hope that you enjoy looking through the archives of this brilliant event. Look at the index page down the right hand side, and click on the year and feature you wish to see. Content will continually be updated. If you see an untitled image you can assist with, please get in touch!

Sunday, December 20, 2015

2010 - Finals Day Report

Bangkok Post. Monday 19th April 2010.

The following article by ACST Director Mark Burns was released to our media outlets on Sunday 18th April 2010
“Gauhati Town Lift the Cup at the 7th Phuket Cricket Sixes”
Twenty four teams have been competing in this year’s Phuket International Cricket Sixes and Finals Day saw a fantastic culmination of cricket skills, entertainment and action.
The Cup semi finals threw up an absorbing match between CBB Postels and Corner Tigers. CBB Postels reached 54/2 following a good bowling session from the Tigers from Pakistan. It was an exciting run chase though which came down to the last ball, the Postels fighting hard all the way. Five runs was required from the last ball and the Tigers only had one wicket remaining. The unlucky bowler however conceded a wide which left just one run to win for the Tigers (4 runs for a wide in this tournament) which they duly stroked to triumphant cheering from their supporters.
The other Cup semi saw tournament favourites Gauhati Maroon demolish Lamma CC of Hong Kong, featuring Trevor Chappell, when they chased down 32 runs in the third over.
It was a mouth watering Phuket Sixes Cup final which pitted former champions the Corner Tigers of Pakistan against Gauhati Town Maroon from India. The Tigers batted first and posted a gettable 60 following some fearsome Gauhati bowling (Haroon 30 not out). In truth it was a valiant effort given that the Tigers lost 2 wickets in the first over. The reply from Gauhati was nearly as deadly and won the final with 3 balls to spare despite some inspiring bowling, especially from Tigers captain Haroon who conceded just 5 runs from his over, who was later made Man of the Final. The winning run was followed by a pitch invasion of the jubilant Gauhati supporters and player’s families.
The Plate final was an all Australian affair featuring St Francis de Sales of Melbourne versus the Leeming Spartans from Perth. The Spartans amassed 78 runs in their innings (Geezer 34*) against St Francis who were making their debut at the Phuket Sixes. The Spartans earned bragging rights for Western Australia when they held St Francis down to just 36/4 in reply with some superb bowling, to lift the Plate.
In the Bowl final the Power Packers from India, featuring former Indian international Vivek Razdan, took on Toorak Prahan of Melbourne, Australia. Batting first the Packers put on a decent 77/3, Sukhi top scoring with 25 not out. Toorak took the match down to the wire with excellent innings from Jeremy Skiba (20) and Kristian Fahey (22), but fell just 7 runs short following some excellent bowling from the Packers. Sukhi was awarded the Player of the Final trophy.
Spoon Final action saw the Singapore Slingers ladies team pitted against the Custom Cockatoos ladies, who feature former Australian captain and ICC World Player of the Year Karen Rolton in their number, both teams having downed men’s sides to reach the final. The Slingers put on a modest 55/2, which the Toos overtook in the third over, Rolton smashing 25 not out, as the Cockatoos ran out winners of the Spoon.
ACST Player of the Day was awarded by the tournament panel to Russell Parsons of Curtin Victoria Park from Australia.
The Spirit of Cricket Award was presented to the Singapore Slingers ladies team.
The Phuket Sixes has been using Duke’s cricket balls throughout the tournament and they performed excellently, especially the orange coloured balls, which were easily visible and very well received.
“It’s been a fantastic tournament here in Phuket again!” said Tournament Director Brad Tarr.
"So many families and supporters have come to Phuket this year to cheer on their teams it’s been wonderful to see. Great cricket, superb weather and incredible spirit, it’s what cricket is all about,” Mr Tarr continued. “It was also really exciting to see the Thai boys team play cricket so well during the tournament,” said Mr Tarr.

Roll of Honour: Phuket International Cricket Sixes 2010

 Cup Winners: Gauhati Town Maroon (India)
 Runners Up: Corner Tigers (Pakistan)

 Plate Winners: Leeming Spartans (Australia)
 Runners Up: St Francis De Sales (Australia)

 Bowl Winners: Power Packers (India)
 Runners Up: Toorak Prahan (Australia)

 Spoon Winners: Custom Cockatoos Ladies (Australia)
 Runners Up: Singapore Slingers Ladies (Singapore)

No comments:

Post a Comment

All feedback is welcome, but it will be subject to moderation before publishing.